Salted Caramel Mocha Chocolate Fudge

image

My first week of holidays are almost over and I’ve been cramming in as much baking as possible. This was my first creation of the holidays that I made on Monday. I’m making this blog to document and show my progress in baking, my passion and hobbie. I will be stating things I can improve on and suggest alterations to the recipes.

For the original recipe go to:

http://www.shugarysweets.com/2014/10/salted-caramel-mocha-fudge#_a5y_p=2908818

I think a few adjustments could be made to the recipe, they will be put in bold below:

Ingredients:

4 cups granulated sugar

1 cup skim milk

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 cup unsalted butter

1 1/2 tablespoon espresso powder

25 marshmallows, regular size

326g milk chocolate chips, 1 package

340g semisweet chocolate chips, 1 package

57g unsweetened chocolate

1 312g bag caramel bits, or about 2 cups caramels

2 tablespoons heavy cream

1 tablespoon kosher salt

Method:

  1. Prepare the ingredients for step 2, 5 and 7.
  2. In a large saucepan, combine sugar, milk, vanilla, butter and espresso powder.
  3. Bring to a boil over medium high heat, stirring constantly.
  4. Once boiling, keep at a rolling boil for two full minutes (still stirring).
  5. For this next step, I use a stand mixer with whisk attachment, but a hand mixer would work too.
    In a large bowl, combine marshmallows and chocolate.
  6. Pour hot mixture over these ingredients and blend until smooth. I turn my mixer on medium speed and allow it to blend for about 2-3 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl several times.
  7. While this is mixing, place your caramel and heavy cream in a microwave safe bowl and heat for 1-2 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds until melted and smooth. Set aside.
  8. Pour the creamy fudge mixture into a parchment paper lined 15inch x 10inch x 1inch baking sheet. Drizzle with hot caramel, using a knife to swirl it into the fudge.
  9. Sprinkle immediately with kosher salt (or coarse sea salt).
  10. Refrigerate for 4 hours, or overnight.
  11. Cut into small bites and store in the refrigerator for up to two weeks. ENJOY!

Now I will explain why I changed things. I couldn’t really taste the coffee in the fudge so I think an extra 1 or a 1/2 of a tablespoon is needed to make the flavour stronger. Also I found that I was quite rushed because I had not gotten my ingredients ready and had hot things that were not supposed to be cooled down.  The chocolate component of the fudge was starting to set by the time I put the caramel in making it hard for me to swirl in the caramel. I changed the measurement for the chocolate and caramel to grams as well because it was in ounces and I am Australian.

My parents told me the other day that the fudge they took into work got a bit warm but actually tasted better and ended up being like a mars bar because the caramel separated from the chocolate. I found that interesting and wonder if it was due to the fact that the chocolate was setting when I added in the caramel, even though I thoroughly mixed it. So that’s something to keep in mind for next time.

Leave a Reply

